History of TU

Trout Unlimited was founded on the banks of Au Sable River in Grayling, Michigan in July of 1959. It all started when a group of concerned Michigan anglers banded together to ensure the health of trout, their habitat, and the sport of angling. Just two years later, the fledgling conservation organization had won its first victory: Michigan had replaced its indiscriminate stocking of catchable-sized trout with stream improvement programs, fingerling planting, and protective fishing regulations. Word of success in Michigan spread quickly and conservation minded anglers in other states, from Pennsylvania to California, joined together under the Trout Unlimited banner to effect similar change in their trout fisheries.

From the beginning, TU has built upon its reputation as an organization of conservation-minded anglers who rely upon sound scientific principles to promote quality trout and salmon fisheries for their intrinsic value as reminders of ecological health. Almost five decades later, TU is 300,000 members and supporters strong, with over 400 chapters nationwide.

The original 12 founding members of Trout Unlimited are:

Lon B. Adams

Casey E. Westell Jr.

Arthur C. Neumann

Victor C. Beresford

George A. Griffith

Cornelius M. Schrems

Kenneth M. Putnam

C. R. Evenson

Pierce Stocking

Harry S. Busbee

John N. Keen

D. Earl Kimble


When was TU founded? How many members does TU have?


Add Content